Beholder sketch

So I’ve decided to take this whole art thing seriously (as seriously as an adult who draws monsters can take anything) and try to start getting some more paying gigs. To that end I’m putting together some finished pieces to showcase my mad skills and enthusiasm for monsters. I’d love to work for Wizards of the Coast and they are the current owners of D&D so I’m starting with some of their iconic beasties. Below you will find my initial sketch of the Beholder, an ugly floating eye bag with various spell-slinging eye stalks and a nasty disposition. I’ve also attached the cleaner line drawing with the shading about half done. I still have to play around with the background a bit but this gives you an idea of how the finished image will display.

Leave a Reply

