ArtOrder Eowyn and the Nazgul WIP

Jon Schindehette from the ArtOrder and the amazing artists at the Muddy Colors blog have put together a challenge too enticing to pass up. They want to see our best interpretations of one of fantasy arts most iconic scenes, the showdown between Eowyne and the Witch King from Tolkien’s “the Lord of the Rings”. So many great artists have done their versions and that makes it even more intimidating to try my hand at it, but I have a little free time and I’ve been reading Tolkien since I was nine years old, so why not give it a shot. I’ve done a bunch of sketching over the last week and this is the one that appeals to me the most so I did a little playing around with it on the computer and thought i’d post this intitial concept for comments/criticism.

2 thoughts on “ArtOrder Eowyn and the Nazgul WIP

  1. Overall… this is a great choice in scenes. Merry looks good. Eowyn’s shield looks a bit like a 1950’s flying saucer, but perhaps it’s just me. My only real “issue” is the arm of Sauron looks a bit like a tenticle – I don’t really see where the elbow is too clearly, and this detracts from the motion of the mace that is about to smash Eowyn’s arm and shield to bits. It almost looks like Sauron is using his arm to protect himself — I think the scene would be vastly better if more emphasis was placed on the motion of the moment.

    overall really nice work Rob – hope my comments help.

    • Now that you mention it the shield could probably use some channels cut into the sides. I was going for the classic viking circle but it is coming off more flying saucer. As far as the arm goes, it is a struggle I had with the Hook Horror challenge as well. Photo reference showed the arm as a straight line, and in the end I had to add a bend that wasn’t there to help clarify and give it a bit more ‘punch’. I’ll try that with this one as well. Thanks for the comment and helpful feedback Jonathan!

Leave a Reply

